• April 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Posts you missed

  • Categories

  • Pages

What happened to Job?

I’ve been reading through the Book of Job again and two points came up.

The first is regarding Satan.  If allowed, he can control people groups (Sabeans and Chaldeans who killed his servants), he can control the weather (great wind that destroyed the home), he can make you sick, deathly sick (full body sores on Job) and he can control peoples motives (Job’s wife’s asking when he would just “Curse God and die” and his friend’s waining support/condemnation).  What happened to Job?  He was stripped of his wealth, children, servants and health.  Satan does this stuff to us.  God does allow it, but for much different reasons than why Satan does it.

The second point is what happened to Job in the end.  While complaining, wishing he were dead and never born, asking God why, why, why, Job did not lose faith.  While his wife begged him to essentially die, and his friends begged him to ‘fess up to his “sinful transgressions”, he did not curse God.  God knew Job could handle it.  God knows that we can handle whatever trials befall us.  God even told us that these trials of life would make us stronger (and they do).  Lastly, God gave us the Book of Job as a guideline on how to react and what to expect.  What happened to Job in the end….?

Job was blessed, he prayed for his friends and family and they were forgiven.  The Bible even explains that Job was given “twice as much as he had before”.  Now that is encouragement.

Family wealth

If you liked this one, here is a link to more often missed Biblical insight:  Those Pesky Weeds

Blessings –

Jeff

11 Responses

  1. I’ve seen it happen. Time and time again to others and to my own family. The terrible things that happened in our [lives] in the end turned out to be gifts – of faith, patience, humility, love, charity and an appreciation for what we have in life.

  2. This is an inspiration for another blog I must write. I often contemplate the creation of satan in the whole scheme of things. Thanks for this.

  3. My father is an atheist who when I talked to him about the need of a savior pointed to the Book Job as a reason to not to trust God. I can still hear the hiss of Satan in his voice, “look at what God allowed to happen to Job”.
    When we look at the situation that we find our selves in, I pray that we are more like Job then Job’s friends. By that we will know who is our master.

    Solus Christo,
    Reformedsteve

    I was really touched by the prayer place. I think that was a great idea.

    • Thanks Steve! Your dad may be one who just doesn’t understand the human condition regarding sin. Have you ever talked to him about the Ten Commandments and led him to his need for a Savior based on the acknowledgement of breaking these laws?

  4. I couldn’t get to that because we couldn’t get past if God created man or man created God.

    The Lord is working on him. He is very anxious all the time. The things that gave him peace no longer do. It is my belief that the Lord is running him down. I can only hope that is the case. Unless he is just headed for a nervous breakdown.

    Isn’t it amazing how the Ten Commandments once served as evidence for our depravity is now looked upon as the evidence of God’s greatness and our dependence upon Him.

    Gloria in Excelsis Deo,
    Reformedsteve

  5. How do you handle alzheimer’s? how is that a gift to family and friends.
    How is a stroke a gift? Gee mom had a stroke and we have never been closer to god!!! Denial not just a river, a way of life.

    “religion…for the hard of thinking”
    Takeshi Kovacs

    • Hi Takeshi,
      You present some common questions. I don’t want you to feel I am being insensitive if you have family or friends who are dealing with these ailments. Know that my dad has survived 3 bouts of cancer as well as other medical problems and I lost a grandmother to Alzheimer’s, so I am speaking from intimate knowledge regarding the questions you present.

      So, on to your questions… The Bible is clear that disease and suffering did not enter the world until after Adam and Eve sinned. (Genesis 1-3) This point is also re-clarified in the New Testament.

      How do I handle any disease, namely the incurable disease of death? I know that I was originally created not to die. My death is a result of sin, one lie, a theft, and/or one moment not putting God first in my life. We are not “good” and thus we don’t deserve “anything”. Hence, why we need a Savior, Jesus… Jesus paid the fine for our sin, for the law we broke. We have been freed if we only have faith and accept the gift.

      I don’t know specifically how an illness or disease could be considered a gift. I think you are responding to the comment left by “Gary”. I can imagine how if I was leading a life of doing drugs or a life of bad moral character, and I had a stroke that confined me to a wheelchair, how this would correct the problem. I do know that the Bible says that “Everything works for the good of those who love God.” If you do not love God, then this process is not promised or not perceived. Maybe the death or illness of a loved one may spur a family member to seek out the truth about God….encourage one to quit a bad habit….open that person up to the message of the Gospel….take your pick.

      Without specifics, it’s simply conjecture how something that would typically be perceived as bad, could be good. In my case, my high cholesterol inspired me to lose weight. My son inspired me to learn to keep life more simple. The death of my uncle inspired me to take up woodworking. My father’s many battles with cancer and other brushes with death inspired me to be open to God, and He answered. My mom’s current treatment for breast cancer has brought me even closer to my parents. So, even in light of your sarcasm, I agree that illness has brought us even closer to God.

      I don’t quite follow your last couple of sentences; maybe you left out a few words?

      I would also suggest reading my post:
      https://tree63fan.wordpress.com/2008/06/05/one-sin/

  6. Tree63fan;

    Last first, It’s a quote from a book;

    “I thought that was what religion was, simplification for the hard of thinking”
    -Broken Angels

    We have lots of platitudes in our culture, “what does not kill you makes you stronger, God works in mysterious ways, and many more. These are nothing more than verble bandaids or comforts to help us deal with our lives.

    We as people look for meaning and solace for the events in our lives. When pain and discomfort enter our lives, as in mild sickness or injury the following relief after it has passed is felt at a much deeper and more profound level. Often as when the most horrible happens and we recover move on and adapt, we then again look for that renewed sense of well being. Any events that are positive, Dad passed away and now I’m closer to my brothers, are attributed to a greater purpose in our lives.

    Later we now take these small comforts and consolations and press them backwards. Dad was meant to die, we brothers needed to come together. Thus the death or tragedy becomes the “gift”. We treat these awfull events in our lives as if they were a skinned knee at the playground or a spanking for not following the rules.

    The reality is that people do suffer, even godly people suffer.
    And when people do not recover, and many never do, it is not because they didn’t find the silver lining. I was because it was more than they could handle. The woman who drowned her three kids did so because she was mentally ill. She will never recover ever, neither will those whom were close to the children. Let’s not go into all of the veterans who will never be whole people again, and millions of rape victims who will never learn to trust. How about the nine year old girl who has been abused by her step father? And what did the Catholic church do? Excommunicate her? Her? let me guess she wasn’t right with god? Or better yet she needed to suffer for a greater good.

    There are tragic events, terible horable some unimaginable. Some are for the greater good. WW1, WW2, and we do make the sacrifices when needed. If my father comits a crime I am not at falult. Blaming someone who committed the first sin for the untold suffering in the world, is obtuse.
    Job as a moral story falls flat, suffering for the sake of a bet, a dare, what kind of god are we talking about here. I forget he paid job back, oh and ten fold.

    You can keep the ten spot I’d rather have my child my wife and my life.

    • Takeshi,
      The argument that the “sins of the father” affect later generations is quite valid. Why would you argue against this?
      I disagree that the story of Job falls flat, since it is a story that can encourage one that is suffering. Some of the simple wisdom laid out that:
      1) Our life here on earth is not the end of the road, thus it is not what we should set our whole being and hope upon. What is happening today is not necessarily how it will play out in the future.
      2) that God is not the direct cause of most suffering, it is Satan
      3) suffering has the potential to teach a great many things (as you pointed out as well)

      Of course, even the simplest positive wisdom in the right light can be viewed as negative.
      When you attempt to apply this story to every instance of suffering when it obviously does not carry that intent, you see what you have taken from the story…bitterness.
      We can’t know why some people are stricken with mental illness which takes away what we perceive as their ability to be rational and have meaningful thought. What we do know is that we are not evolving into something better; we are propagating more and more genetic disease and illnesses because we are losing genetic information with every generation. Cancer is occurring due to age as well as environment AND due to simple genetic failures.
      Getting back to the point…..If your father commits a crime, you may not be at fault but you do pay the consequences, like of not having a father at home. Then you growing up without a father pass this loss onto the next generation is some manner.
      What I feel you must consider is the spiritual nature of sin. We have all committed crimes. Lies, theft, blasphemy, it is all sin and is all unacceptable to God. We are criminals just as Adam was, thus we don’t really have to blame Adam we can just look in the mirror.
      Do you have a Christian background at all? Just curious… That last link in my past comment adds to this.
      Our time is short, we can’t sit on the fence forever for we never know when an illness, accident or other disease may strike and we will lose the opportunity to choose. There is evil in this world, and horrible things have happened, do happen, and will continue to happen.
      You bring up horrible occurrences like the young lady who was raped, but you choose to limit yourself to thinking it CANNOT bring about anything good. What if this young woman started a rape recovery org, or her parents were able to console a rape victim who was about to commit suicide? This is hypothetical, but you see my point. You can choose to only see bad when there are ways good can come of the bad.
      One last point from Job that goes hand in hand with my last paragraph…Job was overconfident that he knew we was righteous and he was demanding an audience with God. But God simply chose to ask Job where he was when “I laid the foundations of the earth”…Job had no idea what God had planned, just as we have no idea what is in the works for tomorrow or 50 years from now. One miniscule event can affect things for years to come outside of the original realm of influence. We may never know, hence the humor in thinking we “know” God is wrong or that something is beyond having any “good” come from it.
      Chew on that a bit, I know we are coming at this from opposing viewpoints. Being one who used to subscribe to what I believe is your current viewpoint, I understand where you are coming from.
      Blessings,
      Jeff
      P.S Job did not lose his wife or his life…he did lose his grown children.

  7. Treefan;

    I must apologize I stumbled on to your site by accident and instead of just backing out I had to pitch my two cents in. I hold you or those who hold your beliefs no real ill will. Our sparing will change neither yours nor my point of view and that is where we are at. And that is where we will stay.

    I came from your point of view. I massaged every story and every fact to point to where i wanted to believe. Then after seeing real suffering, I do mean real suffering, real results of those who’s lives have come across what most people believe to be evil. Some people become more faithful some less, others just let it go.

    The universe runs on physics nothing more, nothing less.
    At first glance this seams sad and pointless as if there is no meaning.
    lets look at it from another point of view.
    There are but three basic colors we see. Yet from that three come the millions and millions of colors we are able to see.
    Take the specialized cell called a neuron. turn it on turn it off, not much there.
    Yet connected to enough other cells and you get the marvel that is the human brain.

    All most all religions try and make some kind of sense of pain and suffering. No amount of rationalization will make it have any real meaning. It simply is what it is. As you and I both have pointed out, you can get a great deal of understanding and some meaning of who and what we are by that which happens in a negative way. We learn the most from failure. We have learned the greatest amount about the human body by its failures and accidents.

    We do have a short time to live, and only one life to live it.

    • Takeshi,

      Please don’t feel the need to apologize, I enjoy intelligent conversation. One of the points of this blog is to bring together ideas and have friendly debates as time permits.

      I’ve been in many discussions that have ended with me saying the same thing you have put forth,

      “Our sparing will change neither yours nor my point of view and that is where we are at. And that is where we will stay.”

      I’m not 100% sure from your comment if you prefer to end the discussion or would welcome a continued conversation. If you are still responding, I would still be very interested in understanding if suffering is the primary reason you left your faith (assuming you were a Christian). Are you a young man or a seasoned thinker? I will not lie, I would love to be able to change your mind about Christianity, but in my experience this venue will not make that happen.

      I would like to challenge you regarding the quote I included above. God can and has changed many people’s points of view after making such statements. Case in point, an Atheist whose words were used in the introduction of a book written by Ray Comfort changed his point of view shortly after the publish date. I think it’s nice that we can both think we won’t change our point of view, but we don’t really know that. I tend to lean toward this thought. You apparently had faith, you then dismissed it. In time, you may very well come to a new understanding regarding all that formed your doubts. After that time, your faith will be even stronger. This is not uncommon, and it still may happen.

      One last observation, you seem to put a lot of faith in the apparent “intelligence” required of physics. What I mean is that, you seem to dismiss there is any real meaning behind suffering, yet you seem to grasp a hold of the fact that 3 colors DO make millions of colors, and very small extremely complex neurons can create a self aware conscience. It seems a bit at odds to dismiss a Creator (although you have not said this outright) in the light of such impossible odds. The neuron itself is a physics nightmare of sorts; we can’t even begin to explain how it truly formed itself out of nothing, or for that matter, how dirt formed itself out of nothing. Physics cannot explain that. Physics also cannot explain where it got “its own” set of governing laws.

      If you were not planning on continuing the conversation, that’s more than fine. Thank you for visiting my blog. Take a look around, you seem to have an interest in this stuff and I’ve written quite a bit.
      Blessings,
      Jeff

Leave a Reply

